Charming village northwest of Dijon, about 15 km from Is-sur-Tille.
The cultivation and processing of hemp has been documented here since 1500. In Champignolle, the old production and processing site, 3 km outside the village, has been restored and developed (wash house, spinning wheels, picnic area, car park, landscaped path). Within the village, the oratory and the neo-gothic church are worth a visit.
The oratory dedicated to the God of Pity is located to the left of the entrance porch of the church, in the greenery. It was erected in 1787 at the request of a notable of the village, Marie Nicolas Amable Chaignet. The ceiling of the niche is decorated with a large scallop shell in reference to the pilgrimage route to Santiago de Compostela which crosses the village
An Oratory is situated on the left from the entry of the church. It was built in 1787. The ceiling of the niche is decorated with a scallop in reference to the way of Santiago de Compostela which crosses the village.
The Church of Our Lady. Rebuilt in the middle of the XIXth century, the present church is in neo-gothic style. Although it has preserved some older furniture, most of it and the stone and wood carvings date from the 19th century (by the Burgundian sculptor Jules Schanoski)
The church (neo-Gothic style) was reconstructed in the middle of the 19th C.
For walkers, the old bread oven, rehabilitated, offers a possibility of shelter. The village is crossed by the GR7, which is also the route to Santiago de Compostela. There is also a pedestrian circuit "des sources" (about 10 km) and the "puits de Bois" which was the origin of the name of Poiseul (500 m outside the current town)
Poiseul-Lès-Saulx is a lovely village near Dijon at 15km of Is-sur-Tille.
During your stay, you will be able to discover the village through six historical places :
A baker's oven was restored traditionally with a room with an oven, and the bottom of the oven in semicircle.
This well was the unique water source of the village until 1770.
Several houses dated from the 19th C have a specificity: they just have a single room. In N° 12 we pass in front of an old farm-inn dating from the 19th C. The rooms were accessible from the outside staircase.
The church (neo-Gothic style) was rebuilt in the middle of the 19th C.
An Oratory is situated on the left from the entrance of the church. It was built in 1787. The ceiling of the alcove is decorated with a scallop in reference to theCamino de Santiago which crosses the village.
The town hall was built between 1834 and 1838, at first it was a school. In front of the town hall a fountain was built in the same century. This fountain join a well from 1773.