The cathedral close of Saint Vincent, seat of the former bishopric of Chalon-sur-Saone, is made up the the Bishop’s Palace, cathedral, cloister and cannon’s houses. Construction of the cathedral started in 1090 in the Romanesque style, but today is characterised by its Gothic elevation and neo-Gothic facade.
The simple layout of the cathedral is composed of three naves, a chevet without ambulatory and side chapels. Come and discover the collection of Romanesque capitals, the Brussels tapestry dating from 1510 and a 16th century stained glass window. For the visually handicapped there is a tactile model available.
Today, the St Vincent’s Cathedral cloister is the only canons cloister conserved in Burgundy and Franche-Comte. Its exterior walls probably date from around 1000, which makes it even more exceptional. Three wings with trilobe arched bays dating from the 14th century and ribbed vaults from the 15th century. The north wing is a contemporary reconstruction of the gallery that disappeared in the 19th century. In the spirit of the mediaeval and existing 19th century capitals, it was decorated with sculptures on the capitals in Saint-Marc stone (Burgundy limestone) made by the sculptor Laetitia de Bazelaire, representing animals, the virtues or the 5 senses.
Accessible to people with reduced mobility.