Massy is a hamlet in the village of La Vineuse-sur-Frégande nestled in the hollow of a valley crossed by a stream. The name of Massy is mentioned in 904 in a charter of Cluny, "villa MACIACUS", domain of MACIACUS, a word formed from the Roman family name MACIUS followed by the suffix of Gallic origin, "-acus. "
Built on the site of the old Saint-Martin chapel (of which some vestiges remain in the apse), the church passes under the name of Saint-Denis, to the presentation of the religious of Cluny.
It is one of the oldest churches of the first Romanesque art in the Clunis region, mentioned in the Cluny cartulary in 932 and 1156.
Last update : 09/12/2020
Please insert a distance in order to get nearby points of interest