The hamlet of Château de la Montagne is located on the first south-eastern foothills of the Morvan, in the commune of Saint-Honoré-Les-Bains.
This unusual hamlet of 25 hectares is entirely listed in the Inventaire Supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques (Supplementary Inventory of Historic Monuments) and has more than twenty buildings fully protected (ISMH and/or MH): Castle, Pottery, Tower, Stables...
In addition to the castle itself, the Pottery is particularly noteworthy as it is listed as a Historic Monument. This industrial monument, unique in Europe, includes the pottery itself with its two kilns, the mixer and the decanting basins, as well as the earthenware factory and the lying kiln.
First settlement at the end of the 15th century of a castle with moat and drawbridge.
End of the 18th century: the castle is partially destroyed by a hurricane, it is Jean-Baptiste Caristie who will give it its current appearance.
In 1786: the family of Espeuilles becomes owner of the castle.
From 1839 to 1841 Félix Duban undertakes the renovation of the reception rooms.
You can also admire, in the main staircase, an important sculpted group in terracotta by Pierre-Louis Rouillard, entitled "the boar hunt". This outstanding work of 19th century animal art is classified as a Historic Monument.