The name Buxy probably comes from the Latin Buxetum, "place planted with boxwood"
In the 10th century, Buxy was an important town, chief town of the Vicaria Buxiancensi, then became a provostry at the end of the century, depending on the Counts of Chalon until 1237. In 1477, the King of France became the direct lord of Buxy!
At the end of the 19th century, the train arrived in the commune of Buxy. It left a century later to make way for the first cycle track in France: La Voie Verte.
Located on the road of the great wines of Burgundy, Buxy is today a dynamic village which has kept its medieval character: in the maze of its streets you can discover the Romanesque church, the old houses of the rue des fossés, the cellars dug in the rock, the Saccazand tower (residence of the last prosecutor of the king) and of course its Red Tower of the 12th century, the emblem of the village.
The quality of the stone exported all over the world and the Montagny 1er Cru appellation that it shares with 3 other villages (Montagny-lès-Buxy, Jully-les-Buxy and Saint-Vallerin) have contributed to its reputation.