A two-voice tour with an agent from the Green Spaces Department.
In the Middle Ages, this brick and stone staircase tower served the floors of the house of the dean of canons of the cathedral. In 1907, in ruins, it was sold, then dismantled, crated and sent to an antique dealer in Paris. After the First World War, the American patron Frank Jay Gould found it and gave it to the city.
In 1960, in order to highlight it and develop the flowerbed at its foot, a large floral fresco was created. Since then, the flowerbed of 380 m² and approximately 20,000 plants has been decorated each year with a motif relating to a local, national or international event: centenary of the First World War, 200 years of the Burgundian lyre of Chalon, 20 years of Chalon dans la rue, Olympic Games, bicentenary of the first photo...
This unique visit will allow you to discover the incredible history of this tower as well as the plantations that enhance it! Wednesdays from 12:30 to 13:30
Free visits - Reservation required on 03 85 93 15 98